Pick Fest 2012

This weekend we went to Frecon Farms Pick Fest in Boyertown, PA.  It’s about an hour drive from where we are in Ambler, but a Saturday well spent.  It’s a few of my favorite things…. pumpkins, apples, bluegrass, and the turning of the leaves.  We were lucky the weather held out and made for a fantastic day!  Picture the scene…. bluegrass bands play from an old school red flatbed truck right in the middle of an apple orchard.  Pumpkin patches surround and apple trees as far as the eye can see!  Hay bales and straw are scattered about so those who want to rest with some local hard cider can sit and enjoy the banjo and fiddle tunes.  Apples are on a grill nearby for a sweet snack.  For those who want to wander and return home with a harvest, there are plenty of apples and pumpkins of every kind to “pick-your-own”.  It’s a beautiful day all around!  Here are some of my photos from the day.  Oh, and next year, you should go!

So what will I be doing with some of the apples we picked?!?  I’ll be juicing some, baking some, but I also found this tasty recipe for Smoked Apple Puree from Williams-Sonoma that I can’t wait to try.  I have a small smoker box, but I also really love the idea of using the *eek, can I say it* bacon fat!  I mean, how tasty!  Heel kicks for fall!!!

Leave a comment