Philly Food Swapping

Wednesday night was another Philly Food Swap… my second to attend.  This time held at the beautiful grounds of the Wyck Garden & Farm in the Germantown section of Philadelphia, where there were lovely grounds to wander and tasty food to be swapped!  I love the sense of community these swaps create:  seeing like-minded friends, making new ones, and the chatter of the love and care we all take in making our treats (whatever they may be!).

I have an overabundance of summer squash coming from my garden.  I picked 5 yesterday!  With only 2 plants, my family 0f 3 is swimming in yellow.  Being a big fan of zucchini bread, I wondered what I could make with squash instead and during some research, I  stumbled upon this recipe online.  It was perfect for my food swap treat!  I made 16 mini Sweet Summer Breads in hopes that I could swap for other goodies.  And while I was in the kitchen, I decided to whip up some Savory Cocktail Nuts with another abundance in the garden, rosemary, the recipe being inspired by one of my favorite cookbooks, Homemade, by Yvette van Boven.

I was pleased with my makings and even more pleased with the goodies that made it home with me.  So many talented and inspiring people in one place.  It’s always a fun swap!  Here’s a few swapping friends:  Lindsey from Coco Love Homemade, Alexis from Teaspoons & Petals, and Marisa from Food in Jars.  And some pics from the eve too!

Now, how about some heel kicks for Friday!  The weather has cooled, the rain is adorning, and I’m looking forward to the weekend ahead.  Have a happy happy weekend!

2 thoughts on “Philly Food Swapping

Leave a comment