a Philly Food Swap!

Philly Food Swap

This past Thursday night I attended my very first food swap held at the beautiful Meadowbrook Farm!  I had read about food swaps before in Kate Payne‘s book, The Hip Girl’s Guide to Homemaking, and seen multiple posts about them on Twitter and Facebook.  I was very curious.  What went on at a food swap?  Who made what?  How many people go?  What’s the criteria for what you make?  How many items do you bring to swap?  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but let me tell you, it was a lovely evening.  And I came home with so many goodies!

So, what did I make to take?!?  After asking the advice of my friend, Alexis of Teaspoons and Petals (one of the evening’s organizers), I decided I would make mini banana chai breads.  After all, I had just purchased the perfect mini-loaf pan and the Masala Chai blend from David Rio is one of my favorite things in my pantry (both available at Williams Sonoma, of course).  And again, I wasn’t sure what to expect, so I decided I should stick to a recipe that I knew was tried and true and this banana chai bread is really darn tasty!  Find a similar recipe here.  (I used no milk in mine.)

Once at the swap, you set up your goodies and samples, and provide a listing of ingredients and/or suggestions of how to use your product.  Then you mingle with the other swappers, enjoy the nibbles, and mark down what goodies you want to swap for.  When it  comes time to swap, head towards the item you want most to insure you get to take it home with you!  Here are some of the items that were available.

There was a wide range of items to swap…. everything from fresh ramps (heel kicks!) to jarred jams to farm fresh eggs to brownie-covered Oreos.  My favorite goodies I snagged were the smoked haberno sauce (made by Lee at Feed Me Lee), the lemon dill hummus (made by Georgia at Oh Kitchen), and the apricot thyme jam (made by Marisa at Food in Jars).  And the ramps too!  All so fun!

It was a great night of meeting lovely new people with similar interests and ideas sparking of new foods to make.  Now that I know what to expect, next swap I’ll get a little more creative.  I hope to make it to the next one!

For more information on Philadelphia Food Swaps, see the link here.

4 thoughts on “a Philly Food Swap!

Leave a Reply

