Friday’s Feature: Cookbook & Garden Love

Sorry, folks, this week’s Friday Feature isn’t an old school country song.  I spent all day Wednesday soaking up the sunshine in the garden, planting lots of seeds, and reading a fabulous cookbook/memoir by Nigel Slater, Tender.

Tender is the perfect book to get you excited about gardening.  It is so beautifully written and the recipes look and taste beautiful too!  Nigel Slater is a British food writer who takes us through 5 years of how his vegetable patch came to be.  He supplies us with 400 amazing recipes.

So what did I plant?  Lots!  I might have been a bit overzealous in my planting when I only have 2 raised beds and an herb garden.  Last year I planted the Beekman 1802 seeds that were sold at Williams Sonoma and the results were so great that I wanted to do it again.  And this year I added the seeds for their pesto garden and year-round salad greens as well!

Here’s a peek at my baby seeds germinating in my front window.

Carrots were one of my favorite vegetables that came from my garden last year.  I’m so excited for them to arrive again this year and when they do, I’ll be making this lovely carrot soup recipe from Tender.

When reading Tender you can feel the love from the cook as he tends to his garden.  The passion you feel from reading it is contagious.  If you feel you need a spark to put a pep in your step into the veggie patch, pick up this book!  Available at your local Williams Sonoma, of course!  AND…. Nigel Slater has a follow up volume to Tender due out this month called Ripe.  I can’t wait to have it in my hands!

Heel kicks for sunny days in the garden to come and tasty recipes from Tender!

Happy Friday!

One thought on “Friday’s Feature: Cookbook & Garden Love

Leave a Reply

