Monday mornings and quinoa cakes

Howdy and happy Monday morning to ya!

It’s a nice sunny morning today and I’m sitting in my kitchen nook trying to get myself organized for the week.  I took a little “me” time and had my tea with the new issue of Kinfolk magazine (volume three which is available to pre-order.  A perk of my working at Williams Sonoma, I was able to grab one yesterday!), made my to-do list for the week, planned out some meals, and now I’m ready to get the week started!

It’s quite satisfying to take some time on a Monday morning to reflect on the weekend’s fun, to prioritize the week ahead, and plan. Any Monday morning rituals you do?

While wondering what would be on this week’s menu, I remembered these quinoa cakes that I made a few weeks back. I’ve really been loving anything with curry these days and these were inspired by the tasty couscous patties Terrain used to have one their menu.  Here’s my creation.

Quinoa Cakes

2 1/2 cups cooked quinoa, room temperature (I used a rainbow blend)

3 eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 teaspoon black sesame seeds

1 teaspoon curry

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup bread crumbs (I used whole grain)

Preheat oven at 400.  Combine all ingredients in a bowl and form into patties.  Oil a baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes, flip, and bake for another 5 minutes.

Makes 4 patties.

I served over butterhead lettuce and drizzled with olive oil, sprinkle with sea salt and fresh ground pepper.  A nice, light tasty lunch!

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

