A Special Breakfast

I love breakfast.  And most days it is the meal that is most rushed.  But lately I have been taking the time to really slow down and enjoy it.  It’s often my quiet time of the day when I can peek at a magazine or a cookbook or two, or just sit and make my to-do list for the day.  So, I wanted to share with you what I’ve been enjoying for breakfast almost every day now since organic berries are popping back up in the markets.  I feel it really gets my day off to a great and healthy start.

Crocodile Crunch – I adapted this recipe from Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet.  The version from her book is here.  It’s a great recipe to play with adding whatever fruits you like or have on hand.  The recipe below is what I normally use.  Makes 1 serving.

4 strawberries (hulled and sliced)

a handful of blueberries

1 banana sliced

a sprinkling of coconut flakes

a sprinkling of Grape Nuts or Kashi’s 7 Whole Grain Nuggets

For the syrup

1 teaspoon spirulina

1 tablespoon non-dairy milk (coconut, rice, hemp, soy)

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1 tablespoon orange juice

1 teaspoon almond butter

Whisk all together and pour over bowl of fruit.  Enjoy!  🙂

Yes, it’s green, really green.  But so tasty!  I hope you enjoy as much as I do!  Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

