Cookbook Love: Clean Start

I have an addiction to cookbooks.  Seriously.  I love them!  And this book, Clean Start by Terry Walters, is the newest addition.

So far, I’ve made a couple of recipes, but have more on the menu for the weekend.  It’s exciting to try new recipes with new ingredients, and this book is right up my alley for cooking healthy “clean” food in the new year.

Tonight we had the Herb Roasted Cauliflower with Shiitake Mushrooms which I served with wild rice and lentils, but I really really loved the New Year’s Soup that I made last weekend.  It was super easy and super tasty!  Here’s the recipe:

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

3 carrots, cut into 1/8-inch rounds, about 2 cups

3 parsnips, cut into 1/8-inch rounds, about 1 cup (Now, can you believe that Whole Foods was out of parsnips?!?  I cubed a sweet potato in its place)

1 bunch collard greens, stems removed

3 cups black-eyed peas, cooked

2 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano

4 cups vegetable stock

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

In a soup pot or large Dutch oven over medium heat, saute the onion and garlic in olive oil 3 minutes or until soft.  Add carrots and parsnips (in my case, sweet potato) and saute 3 minutes.  Chop collard greens into bite-size pieces and add to pot along with black-eyed peas and oregano.  Add vegetable stock, bring to boil, cover, reduce heat and simmer 20-25 minutes.  Stir in the apple cider vinegar and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Remove from heat and serve.

Serves 6.

I served the scrumptious soup along with this vegan cornbread recipe.  A perfect meal!

This weekend I look forward to making some treats out of the book.  First up, Pumpkin Spice Muffins and then the Peanut Butter Balls!  I’ll let you know how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

